Holy Jesus! American Idol sang a praise song last night on Idol Gives Back!

I almost fell off my couch!

Hollywood finally acknowledges God. Wow…..what can I say. I was simply elated…..and shocked out of my socks that they had the guts to do it on reality TV.  Hillsong Australia, they’re singing your song! Shout To The Lord has been an all time favorite contemporary Christian praise and worship song sung in churches all over the world for over 10 years. And last night, in front of millions of viewers, God took center stage. How awesome is that! Although it’s politically incorrect to openly praise and worship God in today’s ultra-sensitive culture, I must say that it is actually a very appropriate song to close the charity concert with.  Throughout the entire two and a half hours we were presented with heartbreaking images and reports of suffering both in the US and in Africa, while a stellar casts of celebrities did their part (bless their heart) and implored us to give generously. In the face of such an enormous need, they acknowledged their need for God and for the hope that only He can bring. I think it’s their way of saying, “Lord we can only do so much. We place this burden in Your good and loving hands and trust that You will make all things good so that every tear will be wiped away in due time. You are our Creator, our Savior and our Hope. To whom can we turn to but You? Tonight we want to give to You your rightful place.” That, to me, is humbling and praise worthy.

Yes, they did replace the name “Jesus” with “Shepherd” in the first verse of the song. I can understand why. They want to make it relevant to people of all faith.  I don’t have a problem with that. I think it is already a very bold move on their part to actually present this song.

Shout To The Lord on Idol Gives Back

 

 

This is the original version, written and presented by Hillsong’s Darlene Zschech.

 

rk

