I could feel that familiar savior complex creeping up on me again. Oh yes, I recognize it’s symptoms alright and can even point out it’s triggers. Just as summer follows winter and night follows day, this intense burden to “make everything alright” follows a particular order. It’s a mind-game I have grown familiar with and have fought with every ounce of my being. I know the trap and the setting that lays the trap. I know the characters and the plot. I know my weakness. I can nip it at it’s bud now before it bears fruit and wraps it’s vine all over me and takes control. I know what I should do. I know the drill. One way not to get sucked into it again is to stop playing it in my mind. Even writing about it now is one step closer to temptation. It’s addictive.

I must stop.

rk

