Last week I received with deep sadness, the terrible news of the tragedy that had fallen on Steven Curtis Chapman’s family. Chapman has been one of my favorite Christian artist ever since I got hold of his album, Declaration, many years. His songs have lifted me up when I was down, brought me hope when the journey got rough, inspired worship within me when I felt dry and most of all, they have always brought God near. Much of You, Carry You to Jesus, Magnificent Obsession are just some that has ministered to me. So it was a very sad day when I heard that his 5-year old daughter, Maria Sue was hit in the driveway of her home by the SUV driven by her teenage brother. The older boy did not see her as he was reversing the vehicle. I can’t even begin to imagine the psychological impact the accident must have had on the brother. Maria Sue is the youngest of the Chapman’s 6 children, of which 3 were adopted from China. Maria was one of them. It just crushes my heart to know that this adorable and lively little girl is now gone.

Eugene Cho who wrote a little more extensively about this tragedy in his blog, Beauty and Depravity, received what in my view was a very insensitive and incompassionate comment from a reader.

Isn’t it hypocritical for you and the Christian community to highlight the death of one child – however tragic – when so many die tragically around the world?

Cho gave a very good response. Yes, there are thousands of tragic deaths everyday all over the world but we will NEVER apologize for grieving over someone who is, in a way, close to our heart through the ministry of her father. Like Cho said, “there are stories behind numbers” and there is nothing shameful about mourning especially for those whose story has one way or another, crossed our path. There are other theological questions being tossed about by readers, such as the age old one about how God can be good as the Christians claims Him to be and where is the hope in such tragedy? These are some of the questions Cho addressed, so please do find time to read it if you’re interested.

Cho, by the way, is the pastor of Quest Church in Seattle and I have been following his blog for over a year now. He is Korean by birth. Here is someone I can respect. He is willing and able to listen with understanding and an open mind to the voice of a changing generation and culture while staying faithful to his own convictions.

Here is the link to Cho’s post on the tragedy, Part I. There is a link from there to Parts II and III at the top of the post.

As we grieve for the Chapman family, I would like to share this music video form his recent album, This Moment. The song Cinderella is a poignant ballad that spotlights a father’s relationship with his daughter in a novel way. Please pause to allow it some time to load.

rk

