I am very satisfied with the latest film, Prince Caspian from the Chronicles of Narnia and have a hard time trying to figure out why it got a poorer review than The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. Caspian is so much more exciting! I find Lion, Witch and Wardrobe (it’s such a mouthful!) a little too slow for me. I was a little disappointed when it came out 2 years ago. Caspian on the other hand exceeded my expectations. I love everything from the heart pumping actions, the betrayals, the battle scenes to the funny moments and the british accents. Call me sadistic but epic films with massive battle scenes will always get my vote. hah! Oh and I simply ADORE Reepicheep, the foot tall mouse. He is so cuuute….like Lucy says. Lucy is my favorite character by the way, among the four Pevensie children. Her simple childlike faith and trust was what enabled her to see Aslan when the rest couldn’t and in the end it was to Lucy’s credit that they won the battle.

I have not read any of the Narnia books which is unfortunate because CS Lewis is certainly no stranger to me. I’ve read quite a few of his other nonfiction work like, The Screwtape Letters, The Problem of Pain, A Grief Observed and Mere Christianity. They were all foundational to my spiritual development, particularly in how I interpret Christianity. There are so many more of his work which I have not explored and I certainly hope to do so.

Well, I am certainly looking forward to more Narnia films. Actually I thought someone should make a movie out of The Screwtape Letters. It will certainly be interesting.

 Here’s the trailer for Prince Caspian

 and this is the ending song, The Call by Regina Spektor.

 

rk

