I am most happy to be back. I had been busy getting the kids ready for the new school year since my return. I have settled nicely into the new year now and is good to go!

Our reunion-holiday in Malaysia didn’t turn out as well as we hoped for. Due to an unforeseen situation, we had to make some last minute changes to our plans. But the more disappointing part is that there was a little fall-out between one of my brothers and our parents. Under pressure, feelings of regret and disappointment that were suppressed for many months erupted into a full blown confrontation. Okay, maybe “a little” was an understatement. It was uncomfortable and awkward for a while and I found myself caught in the middle, trying to play peacemaker. It’s grieving to see hearts broken in the process but at least there is no longer any repressed hurt. Hopefully healing can begin, now that everything is out in the open. The saving grace is, I am confident that as a family, we will always consider what is best for the other, employ our deepest understanding and make every effort to offer grace in a very delicate situation. It’s not easy, neither is it instantaneous but I know my family enough to know that no matter what challenges we face, we will not throw away the sacred bond we have as a family. I particularly hated to watch Dad’s bubble burst. I could sense his anticipation in celebrating his first Christmas as a believer with the family. I know it means a lot to him by the silent effort he made to make this a meaningful celebration.

My brother is back in UK now and I am home in Singapore. A brand new year is ahead and I am feeling optimistic. It really does pay to go to church every week. Whenever I feel overwhelmed by life, it allows for God to adjust my perspective and refocused my vision. He is the bearer of good news.

Welcome 2009!

“The dektos (acceptable) year of the Lord, when the salvation and free favors of God profusely abound.” In spite of the many predictions of doom and gloom in the secular world, I say AMEN to God’s proclamation to his people. So be it unto me and my family.

We closed the first Sunday of the new year with a graceful song, rich with meaning. Although it was more of a Christmas blessing song, it works just as well for the new years. May I pronounce these blessing unto you too.

The Blessing Song by Dennis Jernigan

 

rk

