I have not been keeping up with Gordan Atkinson at RLP for a while and have forgotten how much I enjoyed his writings. He is one preacher who is different from most preachers I know. For one, he doesn’t throw Christian jargons at you and tries to explain everything with a Bible verse. In fact, it might be accurate to say he is a skeptic first and a believer second but he is definitely a serious and gifted writer. He is someone who has struggled with depression and some serious doubts. For a period of time, his writings felt depressing and overly cynical and I almost felt apologetic for being a Christian. His Foy Davies stories are my personal favorite. I wish someone would compile and publish them someday.

I just found out that his second book, Turtles All The Way Down, is due in November. I think I might just give myself a treat this Christmas by placing an advance order. His first book, a collection of short essays, was simple and honest, yet profound. Spiritual but not religious. Loved it. I have not done any serious, contemplative reading for a long time so I am looking forward to this one.

rk

